Thank You Note to My First Love

For . . .
Teaching me to never forget my keys, phone, wallet
Validating everything I felt, with a nod and a hug.
Accepting my hidden self,
Holding open doors, cooking dinner, 
Paying, carrying, and asking,
Stopping my over zealous striving and starting my resting soul 
Holding my hand on long drives,
and tethering me to you
Writing the permission slip to be broken
Moving me from an ever changing thermostat to a blanket
“You can’t make everyone comfortable, but you can keep one warm”
Being my reference point, and story
Teaching me that some days of no accomplishment are okay
You are and will be the beacon taking me on my way to my forever love.

Leave a Reply

